News | May 14, 2024

Announcing winners of the Primary Science Teacher Award 2024

The Primary Science Teaching Trust (PSTT) is delighted to announce the 2024 winners for the Primary Science Teacher Award (PSTA). Winners will be joining a network of over 200 colleagues across the UK. Many congratulations go to:


Amanda Lambert

Holy Trinity CE Primary School, Richmond upon Thames

Debbie Powell

Westminster Primary Academy, Blackpool

Devan Davis

Fairview Primary School, Ballyclare

Hannah Wain

St. Chad’s CE Primary School, Newcastle-under-Lyme

Peneli Grier

The Ferncumbe CE Primary School, Hatton Park


PSTT works towards a vision of seeing excellent teaching of science in every primary classroom throughout the UK. We know that many children decide before they are eleven whether science is for them, so high-quality engaging science at primary school is vital. While not everyone will follow a career in science or related disciplines when they leave the school system, being scientifically literate is important for all children and their daily lives. Making individual decisions, e.g. about their own health and well-being through to understanding global issues such as climate change are dependent on a good science education.


Teachers that are doing incredible work, raising standards, excelling in tough conditions and going above and beyond what is usually expected, deserve to be celebrated. PSTAs do just that – celebrate, reward and provide continued support for these deserving teachers.


Winners of a PSTA in 2024, receive £1000 personal prize money, a selection of TTS science resources (sponsored by TTS Group) for the school and a year’s Association for Science Education (ASE) membership.


Winners will be inducted into the ‘Primary Science Teacher College’ as a College Fellow where they will have access to many benefits including receiving funding and support from PSTT to continue and expand their remarkable work in primary science education.


Presentations to all our 2024 winners will be made during a celebration dinner as part of our annual PSTT College Conference in October 2024.


Congratulations to this year’s winners for their innovative practice and exceptional dedication to primary science teaching.


Further details of the Primary Science Teacher Awards can be found on the PSTT website: